Alice in Dotland

by Penguin Classicsby Penguin Classicsyeahhhh! Two of my favourites passions have blend into one. The work of Yayoi Kusama, who is one of my favourite artists, and Alice in Wonderland, once again one of my favourites novels. The Japanese artist has illustrated her own vision of the book, the result is Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, published last year by Penguin Classics.

Yayoi Kusama is a a modern Alice and a heroine, someone capable of turning her lifetime hallucinations into art. Since childhood she was gripped by visions of dots that covered everything she saw and moved into her body. Soon this “curse” become her source inspiration. If you have the chance to read about her life or see her work, please do, even if you think she is not your style I am quite sure her work won’t let you indifferent.

I came across her work on several occasions, last time at Selfridges in London, but it was at her exhibition Mirror Years at the MCA in Sydney back in 2009 when I felt like the happiest little girl on earth. Every room was a surprise, my mind expanded taken by organic shapes, mirrors and polka dots. The maximum joy came with the installation Fireflies on the Water, I literally thought “this is a trip down the rabbit hole”, I just didn’t want to leave the room.

And now I’m looking forward to this new version of Alice in Wonderland. Let the trip begin here!

(Images by penguin.co.uk) Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland was produced in collaboration with the Kusama Studio, Tokyo and Gagosian Gallery
